Live Music: CSO and YuMi Hwang-Williams

YuMi Hwang-Williams

This is just a bookmark for myself, rather than a full review, because I have some projects afoot that are demanding my time. I will record my strongest impression. Listening to a 230-year-old Mozart symphony that I’ve heard many times on the radio somehow made me realize that this music was composed not so long ago, just a few human lifetimes, and that as popular as it is there have only been a finite, even fairly small, number of performances of it. I found myself appreciating that each performance is worthwhile, and unique, even if most of the audience is suffering from a winter cough.

I’ll go ahead with impression #2 also: YuMi Hwang-Williams has a wonderfully soothing, fluid style. The Dvorak Romance was especially lyrical. Ok, the program:

Mozart’s Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183.
Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4, K. 218.
Antonin Dvorak’s Romance for Violin & Orchestra.
Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.